DATABASES AND ONLINE PROGRAMS


Search our databases to find full-text articles and citations from journals, magazines and newspapers, as well as primary sources, statistical data and more.  Databases can be accessed from any Internet-based computer unless they are specified as In-Library Use Only.

Click On the Topic to Search Databases by Subject

Books & Authors Biography Business Careers, Education & Test Prep
Current Issues Encyclopedias Genealogy General
Health & Nursing History House & Home K-12plus Tutor.com
Language Learning and Spanish Reference Newspapers Science Travel and of Interest to Senior Citizens
Pronunciator ProCitizen

 

 

 

Pronunciator

    Pronunciator
Pronunciator is the world’s largest language-learning service. With Pronunciator, you have access to courses for over 80 languages, spoken by 95% of the world’s population. And if your native tongue isn’t English, don’t worry! You can choose any one of 50 languages to take your courses in. You learn through activities, drills and quizzes that have been developed by language educators. With over 2,000,000 recorded words and phrases, the courses cover all levels of vocabulary and grammar, from basic to advanced study. Pronunciator provides sophisticated pronunciation analysis and interactive coaching to support you, plus feature films, music and more to “edutain” you.

You will be asked to enter your Lawrence Public Library card number.

   

Pronunciator En español
Pronunciator es el servicio de aprendizaje de idiomas más grande del mundo. Con Pronunciator tienes acceso a cursos de más de 80 idiomas, hablados por el 95% de la población mundial. Si tu lengua materna no es el español, no te preocupes. Puedes elegir tomar los cursos en cualquiera de los 50 idiomas con que disponemos. Aprendes a través de actividades, ejercicios y exámenes que han sido desarrollados por profesores de idiomas. Con más de 2 millones de palabras y frases grabadas, los cursos cubren todos los niveles de vocabulario y gramática, desde básico hasta avanzado. Pronunciator te brinda un análisis de pronunciación sofisticado y enseñanza interactiva para apoyar tu aprendizaje, además de películas, música y otras funciones para educarte y entretenerte a la vez.

Se le pedirá que introduzca su número de Lawrence Public Library.

Books & Authors

Books & Authors
Explore books, authors, genres and topics and get recommendations on what to read next. Includes biographical and critical information from Contemporary Authors.
   
   
Literature Resource Center
Find the information you need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
   
NoveList
A fiction database that provides reviews, annotations, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. Use a favorite author or title to find similar books, or find all the books in a series you enjoy. From home, you will be asked to enter your Lawrence Public Library barcode number.

Biography

Biography in Context
Contains nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography that's updated daily.

Business 

Business Insights: Essentials
Company profiles, finanical data, investment reports, industry information, business periodicals and more.
   

Language Learning and Spanish Reference

    Pronunciator
Pronunciator is the world’s largest language-learning service. With Pronunciator, you have access to courses for over 80 languages, spoken by 95% of the world’s population. And if your native tongue isn’t English, don’t worry! You can choose any one of 50 languages to take your courses in. You learn through activities, drills and quizzes that have been developed by language educators. With over 2,000,000 recorded words and phrases, the courses cover all levels of vocabulary and grammar, from basic to advanced study. Pronunciator provides sophisticated pronunciation analysis and interactive coaching to support you, plus feature films, music and more to “edutain” you.

You will be asked to enter your Lawrence Public Library card number.

    Power Speak
Rooted in more than 30 years of research and development, Powerspeak Languages provides users with the ability to learn, apply and enjoy a new language quickly and more proficiently using a variety of proven methods that engage all types of learners.

A unique integration of training, coaching, practice and assessment features, instead of the typical "listen and repeat" flash-card style or rote memorization instruction that characterize other language systems, is what sets Powerspeak Languages apart.

Powerspeak Languages takes language instruction to new levels of engagement and effectiveness, diminishing the fear and angst of learning a language by empowering users with a friendly, functional and contextual learning experience. Fun, yet challenging? Yes! Boring and frustrating? Never! Because when learners discover a program that’s enjoyable, they’re motivated and eager to continue using it.

From home, you will be asked to enter your Lawrence Public Library barcode number. Access funded the Lawrence Public Library.

   

Pronunciator En español
Pronunciator es el servicio de aprendizaje de idiomas más grande del mundo. Con Pronunciator tienes acceso a cursos de más de 80 idiomas, hablados por el 95% de la población mundial. Si tu lengua materna no es el español, no te preocupes. Puedes elegir tomar los cursos en cualquiera de los 50 idiomas con que disponemos. Aprendes a través de actividades, ejercicios y exámenes que han sido desarrollados por profesores de idiomas. Con más de 2 millones de palabras y frases grabadas, los cursos cubren todos los niveles de vocabulario y gramática, desde básico hasta avanzado. Pronunciator te brinda un análisis de pronunciación sofisticado y enseñanza interactiva para apoyar tu aprendizaje, además de películas, música y otras funciones para educarte y entretenerte a la vez.

Se le pedirá que introduzca su número de Lawrence Public Library.

 
Spanish language newspapers, magazines and newswires from the U.S. and around the world including Argentina, Chile, Columbia, Mexico and Spain.
Britannica Spanish Reference Center
Includes Britannica Escolar Online, a Spanish elementary encyclopedia for  grades K-8 and Enciclopedia Moderna for grades 9-12. Moderna will satisfy native Spanish speakers, and students that are bilingual or just learning Spanish.

Careers, Education & Test Prep

>
Learning Express Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.
School Center The resources here can help students in elementary, middle, and high school prepare for important tests, get extra help with assignments, and boost their skills in important subjects.
Adult Learning Center This center offers busy adults the resources to improve their basic skills in reading, writing, and math, prepare for the GED® test, or become a U.S. citizen.
Career Center Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Choose the Career Center and begin your path to a bright future.
College Prep Center Getting into college is an important step to building a strong future. First, you must do well on your college admission tests and write a personal essay that highlights your special talents. Use this center to get the resources you need to achieve your college preparation goals.
College Center If you need to strengthen your fundamental academic skills for your courses, prepare for an important placement test, or ensure a top score on a graduate school entrance exam, the resources here can help you reach your goal.
High School Equivalency Center Earning a high school equivalency credential can open the door to better income, a more fulfilling job, and a college education. If you are preparing for the GED® test, HiSET® or TASC™ exams, our practice tests, interactive tutorials, and eBooks will help you reach your goal.
Recursos en español Este centro ofrece a los adultos que están muy ocupados los recursos para mejorar sus habilidades básicas, ganar sus credenciales de GED® o ser ciudadano estadounidense.
 

ProCitizen En español

Estudiar para el examen de ciudadanía estadounidense es fácil con ProCitizen . Ver videos cortos y tomar pruebas para ayudar a recordar lo que necesita saber. ProCitizen es una nueva característica de Pronunciator , una de línea eResources de aprendizaje de idiomas de la biblioteca. Entre para Pronunciator ( gratis con su tarjeta de la biblioteca !) Y selecciono español para " hablo ..." y " Quiero aprender Inglés .. " para encontrar ProCitizen y comience.

ProCitizen

Studying for the American citizenship test is easy with ProCitizen. Watch short videos and take quizzes to help remember what you need to know. ProCitizen is a new feature of Pronunciator, one of the library's online language learning eResources. Log in to Pronunciator (free with your library card!) and select English (US) for both "I speak..." and "I want to learn..." to find ProCitizen and get started.

Job and Career Accelerator Powerful tools and expert guidance to help you find a great job.

Gale Courses Online learning anytime, anywhere…just a click away!

Gale Courses offer a wide range of highly interactive courses that you can take entirely online.   As a library card holder in good standing, you are entitled to take up to five courses per calendar year at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.

Over 300 comprehensive online courses in a convenient six-week format

  • Expert instructors lead each course
  • Engaging student discussion areas
  • New sessions starting monthly
  • Confirmation of completion awarded with passing score

 

Criminal Justice Collection
Targeted collection of 700+ journals covering criminal justice including law enforcement, paralegal topics, and homeland security.
   
Educator's Reference Complete
More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
   
Vocations & Careers Collections
Targeted collection of general career guides and highly specialized industry journals.

Current Issues
 

Global Issues in Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
   
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues, with continuously updated articles, overviews, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.
   
Britannica World Data Analyst
Comprehensive current and historical statistics on the countries of the world for historical and cross-national comparisons and the creation of tables and charts or exporting for deeper analysis.

Encyclopedias
 

Britannica Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons from students, to business professionals and lifelong learners. Offers "adult" and "kids"  interface. Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Genealogy
 

Easily search a collection of over 22 million recent records from hundreds of U.S. newspapers. Updated daily, it incorporates over 75 million records from the Social Security Death Index (1937-present), organized by state.  
Ancestry Library Edition
* In-Library Use Only; access funded by the Lawrence Public Library
This database offers a wealth of information in an easy-to-use format. 
  • Over 4,000 databases and four billion names
  • U.S., U.K., Canada, Ireland, and other countries
  • Census data, maps, military, immigration, DAR records, slave stories, and more
   
  Boston Globe & Herald Obituary Database
An index of obituaries that appeared in the Boston Globe and the Boston Herald. Currently, this database includes obituaries published between 1953 and 2010.

General
 

Database PowerSearch
Select one or more databases from an alphabetical list and then cross-search in a single search.
   
Expanded Academic ASAP
Use this database to find full-text scholarly journals, new magazines and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
   
General OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980- with over 12,000 titles (7,800 full-text including The New York Times back to 1985).
   
General Reference Center Gold
Includes material from magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias and other reference material from 1980 - date.
   

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Subject coverage includes physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more from 1980 - date.
   

Health & Nursing

Health Reference Center Academic
Articles from a variety of magazines, plus excerpts from reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary, medical directories, health periodicals, and pamphlets from leading health organizations.
   
Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Designed for nursing students, this brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, anatomy and physiology diagrams with full-text journals and core encyclopedia texts.
   
Nursing Resource Center
Designed for nursing students, this brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, anatomy and physiology diagrams with full-text journals and core encyclopedia texts.
   
Sports Medicine and Physical Therapy Collection
Targeted collection of journals covering proven and experiment research and treatment techniques in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

History

Massachusetts History Online
Find contextual information on the most significant people, events and topics in Massachusetts History.
   
US History in Context
Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
   
Britannica Annals of American History
Speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, editorials, images and more that bring American history to life from 1493 to the present.
   
World History in Context
Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

House & Home

Culinary Arts Collection
Collection of over 200 major cooking and nutrition magazines including recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information.
   
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Targeted collection of journals and e-reference sources for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.

K-12

School Center The resources here can help students in elementary, middle, and high school prepare for important tests, get extra help with assignments, and boost their skills in important subjects.

Tutor .com
A customized program that combines an award-winning Student Center, College Center and Career Center and includes:

  • One-to-one academic support
  • Real-time writing help
  • Resume review and certified career tips from Career Solvers and other job search pros
  • Online tutoring
  • GED prep
  • Thousands of vetted academic resources, including ones from Texas Instruments, Khan Academy, and other top education companies
   
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
   

ABCmouse.com: With 3,500+ interactive books, educational games, puzzles, and other learning activities, ABCmouse.com’s award-winning online curriculum is an invaluable resource for young learners (ages 2-6+). From Age of Learning, Inc. This program is only for use while in the Library.

Kids InfoBits
Search magazines & reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Designed for students in kindergarten through grade 5.

Newspapers

Find diverse global perspectives on issues and events on topics related to the arts, business, careers, economics, education, government, health, history, homework help, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, transcripts, videos, periodicals and web-only content.  Includes the Boston Herald, Eagle-Tribune and USA Today.

Eagle Tribune
Read The Eagle Tribune Online Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Eagle-Tribune. Updated daily, it includes staff written articles, editorials, announcements, and other sections.

You will need your Lawrence Public Library Card number to open the site. Access funded the Lawrence Public Library.
The Boston Globe Full-text coverage from 1980.
   
The New York Times
Full-text coverage from 1985.
   

Science

Science in Context
Information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and website links.
   
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Collection of 700+ journals and reference books covering environmental issues policies from scientific, government and industry perspectives.

Travel

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
Collection of over 500 journals, 400 travel guides and e-reference books covering hospitality and travel.

Of Interest to Senior Citizens

Seasoned Times
Seasoned Times is a FREE resource that celebrates the "seasoned times" of life and promotes wise, healthy aging. All content is written to reflect our theme "age adds flavor" and our anthem "we are not old, we are seasoned."